Administrative Division
Untitled Document
Embilipitiya Town
Embilipitiya is a major city in the Ratnapura District of Sabaragamuwa Province. It is a main agricultural centre of the country and also it can be described as a fast growing city of Sri Lanka.
Embilipitiya is situated about 178 kms away from Colombo, along colmobo-ratnapura-embilipitya main road. It is also situated about 40 kms from Hambantota which is a fast developing city of southern sri lanka.

Surrounding of embilipitiya, there are full of agricultural lands. This area is a leading plantains producer of sri lanka. In addition to that, farmers of Embilipitiya produce Paddy, Vegetables, and fruits.

There are number of tourist attractions close to Embilipitiya. Some of them are, Sankapala Temple, Maduwanwela Walawwa, Udawalawa Reservoir, Chandrika wewa, Udawala Elephant Orphanage, Madunagala Hot Water Spring.

Some major tourist hotels, state and private owned power stations, paper and sugar factories are situated suburbs of Embilipitiya.
Administrative Structure of Urban Council
  Administration is done with the assistance of Hon. Chairman, Hon. Deputy Chairman and Hon. Members. There are 05 committees to facilitate all the activities of the council.
  • Finance & policy committee
  • Tender Committee
  • Environment & health committee
  • Planning committee
  • Library committee
Administrative Structure of the council
  Secretary is responsible to implement the decisions taken at the general assembly regarding the entire staff. Following administrative bodies are assisting the administration of the council.
  • Secretary
  • Administrative division
  • Health division
  • Planning division
  • Community development division
Head of the administrative division is the administrative officer and under him there are Chief Management Assistant, Programme Assistants